As I collapsed down the road, some the guards who were sitting under the shade came running. Next few moments were in blur the thunderstorm in the background was growling with fun that at any moment from now we could see a big sea of water gushing through the path we were walking. Though I closed my eyes and started imaging my journey through the forest. I looked for clues about those people through their voice and statement. Suddenly a female voice came to my ear,” Look we need to pick him up and lay him at the interior tents, he needs an IV quickly. High fever maybe a yellow fever you never know”.

As she kept shouting towards the people around me and I closed my eyes I felt like I was hallucinating, falling, getting wet and then hitting the ground. My body looked for energy, as I tried shutting my brain off; the numbness of my body told me maybe it was too late for me to see the next day. The hallucinating brain was picking me up shaking me with memories of my trek.

Last night was good night. I slept for three hours without any wakeup calls. Now one thing I have to look for is the source of water before I dehydrate. The trek was never supposed to be any dangerous than just walking, climbing and camping at nights. But one cool mistake you commit in the trap of forest and you never see the life-light.

The sun was just up and shining over the tropical forest and here you’re sure to sweat like a meat. My primary aim was to look for source of water before the blood clogs down. What trees taught me the earlier you sleep the more energetic you are in the morning, so maybe this could tell the reason for my fast moving legs.

As I evaded the dense bushes, the downhill was now just few steps away. I increased my speed and the long roots of trees helped me get down.  As I encountered the river I saw that water was muddy than water I saw downhill in village, as I cleaved and filled using my solar powered bottle. I looked for naturally formed small ponds on banks were the water will be clearer as compared to water in the flowing river.

As I stepped away from the river and resumed my trek, I encountered the forest apples. Which are mostly green and must have bigger seeds than the normal apples? As I stepped on the tree I saw few monkeys which were busy enjoying the feast. I grabbed few and moved forward and sensed that the up climb will now be a long one. Trying to reach one of my base point, before I exhaust all of my resources.  I will probably reach the base point by tomorrow morning.

As I moved forward the sun was shining with all it’s might towards the forest. You could see from a distance that the garnishing heat on the body wasn’t helping much of the body. As I was sweating rains in my body, I tried to rest under a big tree where no predators were seen.

As I was resetting the sun had suddenly increased the mighty fall of rays; which made me close my eyes and go in for a nap. The sudden burn sensation on my eyes didn’t help me, it was like someone was burning my eyelids. Before I could react a spider was sitting right over my eyes, looking right into me.

A sudden jerk would startle it, making an eminent reaction from the spider. Slowly pushing my hand below it; left it on the branch. Though I still wasn’t sure had the spider bitten me as I checked for any swelling but none could be seen?

As I moved through trenchers trek the uphill became more and more difficult. The forest became denser and water was soaking out. As I looked for any wild animals it was my first encounter with wild elephants they were living near a small pond. Now you don’t disturb them you go through a different route. They sensed me and made a howling sound towards me and flapping its ears. I took step back and then a detour through the region. This was my first step towards wrong direction.

 

I could not make the sense of a sun, it’s like I could see two suns in the sky. Though I moved away from my path I had also lost lot of my energy into this through this simple one moment mistake which was now multiplying.

As I swept on to the vision full, each turn looked like a new struggle down the monster jungle. Here I remembered the golden rule never visit the map when you are unsure of where you are the mind always will take you to the wrong turn. As I calculated my next move my body was showing signs of dehydrating brain.

As I sat under the shade I saw some bushes move behind me, Though I didn’t move an inch I got ready with my pepper spray and knife from my backpack. After sometime when I was sure that the animal has passed on, I looked for another matter to see me through. Now my healthy was giving up on me as I felt weak through my muscles.

Treacherously climbing through those walls and of rocks I now had a sudden quick urge to complete my climb. Though I tried the first remedial methods of taking medicines from first aid and trying to rest my body for some time.

The vision was flickering and my legs weren’t working as required. I always wanted to die in mountains but not in this way not looking at the sky and thinking maybe the next like I will take different route? By this time I was hallucinating. After a reluctant turn I crossed a small stream where the bushes were aligned perfectly to make bridge. As I was walking now under the sun which seemed to have turned red, I saw some people in front of me on cleared patch in forest. Two small tents where build up with people moving from one place to other. They were surprised to find and looked at me as if they had seen an alien coming through the jungle, as I balanced myself with all the energy I had left. I gave them that I am fine and collapsed.

Next two months I was in hospital with doctors were unable to determine what had really happened to me. Was it the spider? Maybe yes or not. The body had gone into a sequence of partial paralysis and the nerve damage was seen at the core.

As I sat their looking at clock on the wall it seemed like some miracle could only save me from this bed ridden state. As my health condition improved over next six months.

I never finished the trek. The people who were campaign in between the forest was a research group who had come from the west side of the forest. I again visited the east side of the forest, the village people were happy to hear that I had survived. Latter a lady came and said “You know right it was you”

Leave a Reply

